Four Buccaneers Make All-South Region Baseball Team

Four Buccaneers Make All-South Region Baseball Team
Cory Witkowski (left) and Dean Green (right) were named to the All-South Region First Team. Photos by Joel Auerbach.

BOCA RATON, Fla.—Four members of Barry’s Sunshine State Conference baseball team were named to the Daktronics, Inc., All-South Region Baseball Team. First baseman Dean Green and starting pitcher Corey Witkowski were named to the first team, with Witkowski claiming the region’s Pitcher of the Year award. Starting pitcher Manny Rodriguez and outfielder Drew Dwelly made the second team.

Green, the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year, nearly added the region honor as well, finishing second behind West Florida outfielder Greg Pron. Green finished the regular season hitting .402 with 18 homers, 19 doubles and 71 RBI, all totals among the top in the SSC. He strung together a 21-game hitting streak and had 20 multi-hit games and 19 multi-RBI games.

Witkowski set school records by going 11-1 with a 1.48 ERA. He was even better in eight SSC starts with a 7-0 record and 1.31 ERA and two of his three complete games. He ranked seventh in the nation in fewest walks per game, issuing just 10 free passes in 97.0 innings.

Rodriguez went 5-3 with a 2.38 ERA and 111 strikeouts in 94.2 innings. He set two school records in a two-hit shutout of Florida Tech on Mar. 11 with 16 strikeouts and a 97 game score. He had a 28.1 inning scoreless streak from Mar. 3 through Apr. 1.

Dwelly hit .318 with 14 homers, nine doubles and 46 RBI. He led the team with 58 runs and 12 stolen bases.

The all-region team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

The first-team members move onto the All-America ballot. The All-America teams will be announced on the Friday before the World Series starts.

C Ryan McChesney, Florida Tech
1B Dean Green, Barry
2B Stuart Drew, West Georgia
3B J.P. LaMunyon, North Alabama
SS Brandon Brewer, West Florida
OF Greg Pron, West Florida
OF Matt Johnson, West Florida
OF Andrew Durden, Nova Southeastern
DH Jake Sloan, North Alabama
UT Brandon Gipson, Benedict
SP Jonathan Cornelius, Florida Tech
SP Daniel Vargas-Vila, West Florida
SP Corey Witkowski, Barry
SP Joey Cuda, Eckerd
RP Shane Waller, West Florida
Player of the Year: Greg Pron, West Florida
Pitcher of the Year: Corey Witkowski, Barry

C Brandon Choate, Southern Arkansas
1B Kellen Bozeman, Delta State
2B Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern
3B Jason Nappi, Harding
3B Logan Williams, Southern Arkansas
SS K.C. Clabough, Florida Tech
OF Andrew Jones, Tampa
OF Drew Dwelly, Barry
OF Wayne Hawkins, Arkansas-Monticello
DH Brent Simone, West Alabama
UT Nate Wilder, Arkansas Tech
SP Dan Bream, Southern Arkansas
SP Manny Rodriguez, Barry
SP Jason Postill, West Florida
SP Andrew Virgili, Lynn
RP Sean Albury, Nova Southeastern