Baseball's Green Named First-Team All-America

Baseball's Green Named First-Team All-America
After being the first Buccaneer to to lead the team in homers, doubles and triples, Green collects Daktronics All-America honors. Photo by Jim Hogue.

MARSHALL, Minn. – Buccaneer first baseman Dean Green was named first-team Daktronics, Inc. All-American, while teammate Corey Witkowski was named to the second team as a starting pitcher.

Green, the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year and a finalist for the Tino Martinez Award, led the Bucs to the finals of the South Region Tournament this season. He hit .400 for the year with 22 doubles, a triple, 19 homers and 77 RBI. He also drew 45 walks, 14 of which were intentional including seven at the regional tournament, to post a .528 on-base percentage. He holds school single season records for intentional walks and extra base hits. He strung together a 21-game hitting streak and had 20 multi-hit games and 19 multi-RBI games.

Witkowski, the South Region Pitcher of the Year, set school records by going 11-1 with a 1.48 ERA. He was even better in eight SSC starts with a 7-0 record and 1.31 ERA and two of his three complete games. He ranks sixth in the nation in fewest walks per game, issuing just 10 free passes in 97.0 innings, while striking out 51. 

                         2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Baseball All-America Teams
                         Ron Lenz Player of the Year: Chase Larsson, Cameron (Okla.)
                        Ron Lenz Pitcher of the Year: Carter Capps, Mount Olive (N.C.)
C Michael Wiseman Sr. Wayne State (Mich.)
1B Dean Green Sr. Barry (Fla.)
2B Stuart Drew Jr. West Georgia
3B Kendall Boone Jr. West Texas A&M
SS Travis Hayes Jr. Tarleton State (Texas)
OF Chase Larsson Jr. Cameron (Texas)
OF Kenny Held Sr. Cameron (Texas)
OF Greg Pron Sr. West Florida
DH Nathan Minnich Jr. Shepherd (W.Va.)
UT Brandon Gipson Sr. Benedict (S.C.)
SP Carter Capps So. Mount Olive (N.C.)
SP Jeremy Gigliotti Sr. East Stroudsburg (Pa.)
SP Ryan Thompson So. Franklin Pierce (N.H.)
SP Chris Zbin Jr. Southern Connecticut State
RP Braxton Lewis Jr. North Carolina Pembroke

C Joe Maloney Jr. Limestone (S.C.)
1B Nick DeBiasse Sr. Central Missouri
2B Josh Dawson Jr. Cameron (Okla.)
3B Jordan Smith So. St. Cloud State
SS Brandon Brewer Sr. West Florida
OF Dodson McPherson Jr. Wingate (N.C.)
OF Matt Johnson Sr. Arkansas Tech
OF Travis Taijeron Sr. Cal Poly Pomona
DH Michael Knox Jr. Mount Olive (N.C.)
UT Dillon Hazlett Sr. Emporia State (Kan.)
SP Kirk Jewasko Jr. Incarnate Word (Texas)
SP Kyle Schepel Jr. Grand Valley State (Mich.)
SP Daniel Vargas-Vila Sr. West Florida
SP Corey Witkowski Jr. Barry (Fla.)
RP Sammy Rivas Sr. St. Mary’s (Texas)

C Ryan McChesney Jr. Florida Tech
1B Brian Yeung So. Wingate (N.C.)
2B Garrett Yatch Jr. Grand Valley State (Mich.)
3B Jacob Rogers Jr. Mount Olive (N.C.)
SS Rashad Ingram Sr. St. Augustine’s (N.C.)
OF Justin Miller Sr. Southeastern Oklahoma State
OF David Fox Sr. Metro State (Colo.)
OF Nate Baumann Sr. Augustana (S.D.)
DH Will Calhoun Sr. Abilene Christian
UT Blake Tagmyer Sr. California, San Diego
SP Gabriel Asakura Jr. Cal. State Los Angeles
SP Chuck Fontana Jr. Molloy (N.Y.)
SP Ajay Meyer Sr. Ashland (Ohio)
SP Tim Shibuya Sr. California, San Diego
RP Shane Waller Sr. West Florida

Mike Dowd (C, Franklin Pierce), David Allbritton (C, Emporia State), Andrew Haake (1B, Nebraska-Kearney), Robert Kelly (1B, St. Anselm), Carlson Leyva (2B, Cal. State Dominguez Hills), Matt Kuchenbecker (2B, Minnesota State), Tanner Funk (SS, Georgia College & State), Ryan Rua (SS, Lake Erie), J.P. LaMunyon (3B, North Alabama), Tom Deangelis (3B, Seton Hill), Matt Umba (UT, Wilmington), Jason Coker (UT, UNC Pembroke), Derek Ingui (DH, Franklin Pierce), Tyler Choate (DH, Southern Indiana), Cody Grice (OF, Grand Valley State), Matt Howard (OF, Slippery Rock), Steve Anderson (OF, Grand Valley State), Eric Aschley (SP, Mercyhurst), Dave Middendorf (SP, Northern Kentucky), Blake Schwartz (SP, Minnesota State), Joe Harris (SP, Wilmington), Josh Pond (RP, Cal. State San Bernardino), Brian Thompson (RP, Quincy)

Ron Lenz Player of the Year
2007: Dylan Owen, Francis Marion (S.C.)
2008: Chad Jacobson, South Carolina-Aiken
2009: Matt Adams, Slippery Rock (Pa.)
2010: Bryan Fogle, Erskine (S.C.)
2011: Chase Larsson, Cameron (Okla.)

Ron Lenz Pitcher of the Year
2007: Erik Lovett, Mount Olive (N.C.)
2008: Korey Noles, Columbus State (Ga.)
2009: Gabriel Duran, Dowling (N.Y.)
2010: Hayden Simpson, Southern Arkansas
2011: Carter Capps, Mount Olive (N.C.)