Rowing Selected For the 2012 National Regatta

Rowing Selected For the 2012 National Regatta
Bucs race into the National Regatta for the third straight season as an at-large 8+. Photo by Jim Hogue.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.—The NCAA Division II Women’s Rowing Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2012 NCAA Division II Women’s Rowing Championships. Barry University’s varsity 8+ squad has earned an at-large bid to compete in the championships.

The team championship is composed of four teams, and each team is required to field one boat of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. The teams selected were: Humboldt State, Mercyhurst, Nova Southeastern and Western Washington.

In addition to the four teams that qualify, two at-large Eights from institutions not represented in the team competition were selected. The Buccaneers were selected in addition to the crew from Central Oklahoma.

“We are excited and humbled to once again be invited to the National Championship Regatta,” head coach Dave Sanderson said. “We’re excited at the opportunity to extend our season as we try to improve on our race finishes. It’s a great reward for all of our hard work this season.”

This is Barry’s seventh appearance in the NCAA National Regatta. The Bucs qualified as a team in 2002, 2004, and 2006 while the varsity 8+ team earned individual bids in 2005, 2010 and 2011. The Bucs’ best finish in the championship came in 2006 when they finished as the runner-up to seven-time champs Western Washington.

The championships will be held May 25-27 at Lake Mercer, located in West Windsor, New Jersey. Rider University and the Metro-Atlantic Athletic Conference will serve as hosts. For championship information and results, including live streaming of championship racing, go to